Dear You.

A collection of anonymous letters to people who’ve been in my life, past or present. I did this idea a few years ago and I loved it so much, so I’m doing it again.

Dear You,

I can’t breathe without you. You are my life, my world. I would never be the same without you. You showed me the true meaning of family, after so many years of being abused and alone. I cannot put into words what you mean to me. You see my good, my bad and my ugly side. No one has ever stayed with me, through the tantrums, through the madness. I wish I could take away all your pain but I can’t, so I’ll just show you that I care and I’m not going anywhere. You expect nothing from me, and thank you for that.

I’m not the strong one, you are.

Dear You,

Fuck you. You spent 19 years of my life, sucking the innocence away from me. If I could go back, I’d speak up a lot earlier. You have turned me into a monster. I fear for my life, for my mind because of you. Will that ever go away? Who knows. I can never get that innocence back because of you. I feel things so intensely now, and that’s not always a good thing. I don’t know who I am because I spent the majority of my life in your grip. You don’t care about me, you don’t care about anybody. All you care about is yourself and getting as much money as you can. I will never forgive you.

Dear You.

I’m sorry. I’m sorry I had to leave you. I’m sorry you’re suffering too. But I couldn’t stay. I had to get out while I could. Your words, your blows knocked me down every time. You’re the best though, when you’re sober. I wish you could be like that all the time. I’m sorry. I hope one day we can build bridges.

Dear You,

I’m sorry I missed out on all those precious last years. You were the best ever, you did everything for me. You let me have a few precious hours away from the chaos at home. I wish I could rewind time and see you again. I miss you so much. I think of you everyday. I wish I could have been there at your funeral saying goodbye, celebrating your life. But I couldn’t and I’m sorry for that.

Dear You,

You don’t know me anymore, but I remember you. Dementia sucked you away from me. But I will always remember you the way you were. Beautiful and so caring. I’ll remember baking cakes in your tiny kitchen and rooting through your draws to see what treasure was hiding there.

Dear You,

One day me and you will meet each other in real life. We will take on New York City and take so many geeky pictures. My heart is always with you, no matter how far away we are from each other.

Dear You,

You are silly but so am I so I guess we’re a perfect fit. I can’t wait for many more adventures and laughs. I promise you’ll get there one day, you just have to believe in yourself.

6 thoughts on “Dear You.

  1. This is so beautiful. I am stealing this idea if that is okay? I love writing and I feel like this would be a great way to vent out some of the things I want to say, but don’t have the courage to say. I am trying to recover from an ED and little posts like this inspire me so much! Thank you. https://warpedintentions.wordpress.com

    Like

Leave a Reply

